Vienna, Austria: A City of Many Possibilities

Vienna is a grand city with some of the most beautiful architecture mixed with century old history.  While exploring the streets of Vienna one can only be swept away by the attention to detail within the city and how even though it is a city of roughly 2 million, it really feels like a small town. I could never get bored of wandering the streets randomly, stopping in at cafes for wine and coffee, and photographing the many activities that are constantly happening. castle

castle2

Even though when I was in Vienna most of the time it was rainy and cold, I had such a fantastic time. This particular day happened to be sunny, but still cold. It was so windy I had to wear a head band and couldn’t get any good pictures without my hair blowing around crazily. Luckily, the flowers were in bloom and people were still milling about despite the cool wind.

church

The churches in Vienna are indescribable. I am not a religious person, but couldn’t help feel in awe at how they constructed these amazing churches hundreds of years ago without modern day machinery. One could spend days just exploring the churches around the city and metropolitan areas like the Vienna Woods. If you are one for architecture and have a respect for history, you should definitely not skip the churches. Many are free to enter and others have small fees, like a few euros. I grew up in a family that is not very religious, for awhile my father was atheist even though his family is very Catholic. So, even though I grew up in a more spiritual family, my extended family are strong believers thus instilling in me a great respect for religion (any religion). Faith is something that I believe is not tied to one religion or the other, however I always understand how one can feel closer to God when they enter these grand churches. There is just something magical that surrounds you the moment you walk through those doors.

flag

2 comments

  1. andreaata13 · October 29, 2014

    Going to Vienna in December and this just makes me want to get up and leave now! The only thing I’m sad about now is the fact that I won’t be seeing the beautiful gardens (though a Winter Wonderland might make up for it)

    Like

    • nightingalecreativedesign · October 30, 2014

      You are going to love it! Almost the whole time I was there it was rainy and cold (around 50F). However, the city is still amazing, the food is amazing, and the people are fun. I’m sure it will be gorgeous in the winter, if you get a chance Lake Hallstatt is beautiful and is supposed to be fantastic in the winter. Definitely take a walk through the Vienna Woods, you won’t regret it! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

